University of Sydney

Several locations Sydney, Australia
Camden, Australia
Visit website

About the employer



The University of Sydney was established in 1850 and is consistently recognised, both locally and internationally, for its outstanding teaching and research excellence. Sydney alumni include Prime Ministers, Governor Generals, Nobel Prize winners and leaders in every field of endeavour. The University offers a comprehensive range of courses, including a number of disciplines unique in Australia. Teaching is spread across nine different state-of-the art campuses, located across New South Wales. The University of Sydney’s commitment to excellence in research has resulted in an outstanding record in national competitive funding and underpins an approach to teaching which has won nominations for excellence and resulted in high student satisfaction ratings. The University has 78 research centres and institutes and is home to three ARC Centres of Excellence. The teaching, research and cultural life of the University is supported by extensive facilities, including the largest library collection in the Southern Hemisphere, the world-class Nicholson Museum of archaeological antiquities, the Macleay Museum of natural history and ethnographic collections and the University Art Gallery. Its outstanding sporting and recreation facilities provide a training centre for students and Olympic athletes. The University of Sydney is a key member of the Group of Eight Australian major research-intensive universities, and the Worldwide Universities Network.


The University of Sydney has nine official campuses.

  1. Camperdown/Darlington Campus.
  2. Cumberland Campus. Home to the Faculty of Health Sciences (based in Lidcombe).
  3. Mallett Street Campus. Home of the Sydney Nursing School.
  4. Sydney Conservatorium of Music Campus. In Macquarie Street, central Sydney.
  5. Rozelle Campus. Home to Sydney College of the Arts.
  6. Surry Hills Campus. Home to the Faculty of Dentistry.
  7. Camden Campus. Contains facilities connected to the Faculty of Veterinary Science and the Faculty of Agriculture and Environment.
  8. Burren Street Campus. Facilties are currently under development.
  9. Sydney Medical School campuses. These include the School of Rural Health (in Dubbo and Orange), the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Concord Hospital, Westmead Hospital, the Children’s Hospital at Westmead, Nepean Hospital, Northern Clinical School, Sydney Adventist Hospital, Broken Hill University Department of Rural Health, and Northern Rivers University Department of Rural Health.


The University of Sydney has 16 faculties.

  1. Agriculture and Environment
  2. Architecture, Design and Planning
  3. Arts and Social Sciences
  4. Business (Business School)
  5. Dentistry
  6. Education and Social Work
  7. Engineering and Information Technologies
  8. Health Sciences
  9. Law (Sydney Law School)
  10. Medicine (Sydney Medical School)
  11. Nursing and Midwifery
  12. Pharmacy
  13. Science
  14. Sydney College of the Arts
  15. Sydney Conservatorium of Music
  16. Veterinary Science

Number of Employees Full-time employees: 7527 For more information, please visit sydney.edu.au

Employer location

Discover similar employers

Charles Sturt University Cootamundra, Australia 1 open positions
Queensland University of Technology (QUT) Brisbane, Australia 1 open positions
Central Queensland University Sarina, Australia 0 open positions
University of the Sunshine Coast (USC) Alexandra Headland, Australia 0 open positions
Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS) Townsville, Australia 0 open positions
More employers

This might interest you

5 Reasons to Pursue Your PhD at EMBL European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) 4 min read
Deciphering the Gut’s Clues to Our Health University of Turku 5 min read
Understanding Users to Optimise 3D Experiences Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI) 5 min read
Harnessing the Rhizosphere to Protect Our Soil Free University of Bozen - Bolzano 5 min read
More stories