The Capital Region of Denmark

Visit website

About the employer

The Capital Region of Denmark (Danish: Region Hovedstaden) is the easternmost administrative region of Denmark, established on January 1, 2007 as part of the 2007 Danish Municipal Reform, which replaced the traditional counties with five larger regions. At the same time, smaller municipalities were merged into larger units, cutting the number of municipalities from 271 to 98. The reform was implemented in Denmark on January 1, 2007.

The Capital Region of Denmark consists of the municipalities of Copenhagen and Frederiksberg, the former counties of Copenhagen and Frederiksborg, and the regional municipality of Bornholm.
Without the remote island municipality Bornholm, located 140 km (87 mi) southeast of Copenhagen, the population is 1,603,008 on an area of 1,973 km² (762 sq. m.) with a density of 812.47 per km² (2,103 per sq m), as opposed to 642.64 (1,665) with all 29 municipalities included.

The primary function of Capital Region of Denmark, as with all the regions of Denmark, is to run the hospitals of the region, 15 in total. In opposite to for example the United States and Australia, where the capital region is a special federal district outside the normal states, the Capital Region of Denmark is merely a name of a normal region in Denmark.

Discover related jobs

Discover similar employers

University of Southern Denmark Odense, Denmark 8 open positions
Aarhus BSS Aarhus, Denmark 0 open positions
Design School Kolding Kolding, Denmark 0 open positions
Royal Danish Defence College Copenhagen, Denmark 0 open positions
IT University of Copenhagen (ITU) Copenhagen, Denmark 0 open positions
More employers